Distracted Driving Accidents
Greenville Car Accident Lawyers
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA),
South Carolina ranked number 1 in fatalities per 100 million vehicle miles
traveled in 2016 and has the nation’s third worst drivers. In fact,
64% of accidents that occur in the state involved mobile phone usage.
While we generally think of mobile phones when we think of distracted
driving, any activity that takes one’s attention away from the road
is considered distracted driving. This includes eating and drinking, grooming,
talking to passengers, adjusting a GPS device, reaching for something
in the vehicle, and adjusting the radio or an mp3 player.
The number of injuries and fatalities caused by this dangerous habit continuously
rises every year, according to the South Carolina Department of Public
Safety. In 2011, the number of injuries caused by distracted driving reached
a total of 4,399. In 2014, it reached 5,287.
South Carolina Distracted Driving Laws
In the state of South Carolina, it is illegal for all drivers, regardless
of age, to text and drive, which also includes emails. The use of handheld
or hands-free devices while making phone calls is not banned in the state,
however. Additionally, drivers are also allowed to use the GPS feature
on their device for navigation.
Drivers cannot send texts or instant messages on other wireless communication
devices such a computer, personal digital assistant, or text messaging device.
There are some exceptions to South Carolina’s law:
- The driver is lawfully parked or stopped
- The driver is using a hands-free device
- The driver is calling or texting for emergency assistance
- A public safety officer is performing a duty within the scope of practice
- The driver is operating a GPS navigation system
Drivers can be pulled over for violating these laws without having made
other violations since this is a primary law in the state. Law enforcement
officers cannot, however, conduct a search or ask the driver to turn over
the device. Fines for these violations are $25 for the first offense and
$50 for subsequent offenses. While the fines seem minor, the cost of an
accident can be your life, so always remember to practice safe driving
habits and save phone calls and texting for later.
Get Started on Your Case Today
If you or someone you love was injured in a distracted driving accident,
you might be eligible to recover damages. Car accidents can cause serious
injuries, some of which can alter a person’s life forever, and impact
the lives of family members. Whether you suffered broken bones, burns
and scarring, a traumatic brain injury, or anything in between, you should
not have to shoulder the burden of any medical bills you incur as a result
of someone else’s negligence. You have a right to pursue just compensation
for all costs associated with your injury as well as your pain and suffering.
At Christian & Davis LLC, our Greenville personal injury team has more
than 95 years of combined experience in the legal field and have helped
recover millions of dollars on behalf of our clients. From the moment
you contact our firm, we will begin conducting a thorough investigation
of the accident, collecting all police and witness reports, medical records,
and other evidence to build a strong and indisputable case.
Call us today at
(864) 408-8890 to schedule a free initial consultation with a skilled and trusted member
of our legal team.