In South Carolina, more than 13
auto accidents happen every hour, and at least 2 people are killed in car crashes daily.
Traffic incidents account for most instances of personal injury, but these
statistics don’t include
medical negligence, slip and fall injuries,
product liability cases, or workplace incidents. While you may have a legitimate reason
to pursue a personal injury claim against a responsible party, if you
don’t file the paperwork in time, you could lose all possible compensation.
statute of limitation is a law that sets the maximum amount of time you have to take legal action
after an accident. For example, in South Carolina, the statute of limitations
for personal injury claims is 3 years. If, for instance, you sustained
injury during an auto accident. You have 3 years from the date of the
auto accident to file a lawsuit with the state’s civil court.
The statute of limitations was created to protect the defendant from fraudulent
claims. If a person decided to pursue a claim after a few years, for example,
the court would think the injury wasn’t severe enough to warrant
immediate treatment. However, if your doctor recently diagnosed you with
an injury caused by an incident that happened years before, you still
have another 3 years after your diagnosis to file a claim.
If you’re ready to submit a claim against an insurance company for
your injury, talk to one of our
Greenville personal injury attorneys for a free consultation. Call us at (864) 408-8890 or fill out our online
form to tell us about your case. Make sure you don’t bear the burden
of financial loss because of someone else’s negligence.